Cake Pops

After enjoying some, I set aside the rest to indulge on my birthday the next day. My 8 1/2-year-old PoPPed them all into his mouth, and I was barely able to rescue one for myself. Laughing and crying. Here’s the simplest sugar-free version I came up with.

CakePoPsFinal
6 oz. coconut flour
6 oz. gluten-free oat flour
touch of sea salt
1/2 t stevia powder

2 large mashed organic bananas
3/4 t rice bran oil or oil of choice (ghee works well if you do dairy)

chocolate almond butter
lollipop sticks

50 minutes
245 degrees

I ground the oats in the blender. Mix the dry and wet ingredients separately (holding off on the almond butter) before combining to get the dough texture of soft ice cream. Shape into 1-inch balls about the width of a U.S. quarter and place them on parchment paper. I baked on low to preserve nutrients. They were nice and sweet. When they’re five, ten minutes out of the oven and moist, you can insert the sticks and gently frost them with the almond butter using a spoon. This is the butter I used. Using a little more oats than coconut flour will help glue the sticks into the cake, though the 1:1 ratio is fine. Yields 20 pops.

NewBitten

59 thoughts on “Cake Pops

  1. thanks for something neat and relevant to share- this one went straight back across my world to one where momma there has her one young man with a gluten sensitivity for which this will hopefully delight her and the other two boys too 😉 well three husbands are boys too sometimes…so I hear.

  2. I didn’t know you had a recipe site. I’d probably be best staying far away being that my cooking skills are so atrocious. My eating skills, however…well, those I’ve honed to perfection. Save a pop for me!

  3. HW, you’re a mine of information on healthy cooking and holistic medicine. I had to google Stevia powder as I had never heard of it. Seems like a miracle powder, 10-15 times sweeter than sugar but with no calories and a glycemic index of zero!

    Now all I have to do is to ask my better half to make it for me. That is unless you are mailing samples to loyal followers 🙂

  4. Oh no. So you tried it…can you say which part was unclear to you? Was your dough the consistency of soft ice cream? It’s that consistency that is most important. Too sticky and it won’t cook through evenly, a bit too dry and it’ll be too hard and crusty out of the oven. And may I ask when was the last time you’d baked? Side grin. I don’t mind taking full ownership and clarifying any part of the post.

  5. I followed the recipe and it was perfect. It does require the large bananas as I said. You have to have faith as you mix the dough when it seems dry. It gets a little more moist as the bananas meld with the flour.

  6. My system won’t allow me to add my “like” to anyone’s blog for some strange reason. But know that I like this! It looks delish! I pinned it to my Pinterest page, too!

  7. I also need to be gluten free AND I can only use pure, organic Stevia as a sweetener for health reasons. I can’t wait to try this recipe! Thank you for sharing! They look delicious!

  8. These look delicious. I thoroughly enjoyed your other post ‘7 habits of highly effective bloggers’. Very thoughtfully written. You really know how to word your thoughts and make the reader bound to the post. Hooked. Good Luck.

    Thank you so much for stopping at my blog space.

Questions or Comments?